Washington Sundar to return in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20; Dinesh Karthik to captain Tamil Nadu

Vijay Shankar will be Dinesh Karthik's deputy in the tournament | Twitter

Veteran wicketkeeper batter Dinesh Karthik has been named as Tamil Nadu captain for India’s domestic season-opening Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament to be held in Lucknow from November 4. Tamil Nadu are the defending champions as well.

The 20-member Tamil Nadu squad has been selected by the State Senior Selection Committee of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) on Tuesday (October 5). Vijay Shankar has been named as the vice-captain of the team.

Indian all-rounder Washington Sundar, who is currently recovering from a finger injury that forced him to miss the England tour, ongoing IPL 2021, and upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021, will return to action for the defending champions next month in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

The squad also featured Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) stars like B Sai Sudharshan and P Saravana Kumar apart from well-known names like T Natarajan, Shahrukh Khan, and N Jagadeesan.

Notably, Tamil Nadu is placed in Group A alongside Goa, Punjab, Odisha, and Puducherry and will start their campaign against Maharashtra o November 4 in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Tamil Nadu Squad:

Dinesh Karthik (capt), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, T Natarajan, Sandeep Warrier, R Sai Kishore, B Aparajith, N Jagadeesan, M Ashwin, Shahrukh Khan, Hari Nishaanth, M Siddharth, Ganga Sridhar Raju, M Mohammed, J Kousik, R Sanjay Yadav, R Silambarasan, R Vivek Raj, B Sai Sudharsan, P Saravana Kumar