T20 World Cup 2021: Babar Azam announces 12-member squad against India; no place for Sarfaraz Ahmed

Pakistan Cricket Team | GETTY

Pakistan cricket team captain Babar Azam has revealed a 12-member squad for their first match of the Super 12 in the 2021 T20 World Cup. They will take on arch-rivals India on Sunday (October 24) in Dubai.

Babar announced the squad in a press conference on Saturday ahead of the high-voltage clash. The squad included senior members, Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik, but Sarfaraz Ahmed couldn’t find a spot.

Fakhar Zaman and Haider Ali were also named in the 12-men squad. They both were not included in Pakistan’s T20 World Cup squad initially. Fakhar was among the reserve players before he got in the squad replacing Khushdil Shah, while Ali replaced Mohammad Hasnain.

Pakistan’s pacer Shaheen Afridi will lead their bowling attack against India, and he will be accompanied by Hasan Ali and Haris Rauf as co-pacers.

Pakistan’s 12-member squad against India: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Hasan Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

After facing India on October 24, Pakistan will face New Zealand on October 26 in Sharjah, Afghanistan on October 29 in Dubai, Namibia on November 2 in Abu Dhabi, and Scotland on November 7 in Sharjah.