Sri Lanka names 19-member probable squad for T20 World Cup 2021- Report

Though there has been no official confirmation from the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board, multiple sources have confirmed that a 19-member Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 probable squad has been unveiled.

The same 19-member squad is slated to play in the three-match T20I series against South Africa as well.

The squad sees Dasun Shanaka captaining the side with Dhananjaya de Silva being named vice-captain of the T20 World Cup squad.

Former SL captain Dinesh Chandimal has also been named in the 19-member provisional squad for the three-match T20I series against South Africa and the T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE and Oman. A few months back it seemed like Chandimal’s career in white-ball cricket was over when the selectors decided to ignore him for successive series against Bangladesh, England, and India.

Missing out from the squad of 22 that was named for the South African series are batsman Pathum Nissanka, wicketkeeper-batsman Minod Bhanuka, and off-spinner Ramesh Mendis.

The selectors have reportedly chosen a provisional squad of 19 which has to be submitted to the ICC by today. The final squad of 15 for the T20 World Cup will be selected from this squad at the end of the 3-match T20I series against South Africa which begins at the R. Premadasa Stadium today.

Sri Lanka Provisional Squad of 19 for T20 World Cup and South African T20 Series (subject to Sports Ministry ratification):

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain), Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Pulina Tharanga.