Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Sri Lanka cricket board announced their 15-member squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup in UAE and Oman. The squad was approved by the Minister of Youth and Sports Honorable Namal Rajapaksa.

The squad will be led by Dasun Shanaka and Dhananjaya De Silva has been named his deputy for the upcoming mega ICC event, which will be played from 17th October to 14th November 2021.

Spinner Akila Dananjaya wasn’t named in the 15-member squad and will be traveling with the team as a reserve player. Apart from him, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, and Pulina Tharanga are named as reserve players.

A big surprise was the return of Dinesh Chandimal to the main squad.

Sri Lanka’s new mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana made it to the main squad. The 21-year-old made his T20I debut for Sri Lanka against South Africa on September 10. Top-order batsmen Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Kamindu Mendis are also included in the squad for the T20 World Cup.

Sri Lanka begin their campaign on 18 October against Namibia in Abu Dhabi in Group A of the First Round. They also have Ireland and the Netherlands in their group.

Here’s the squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Dhananjaya De Silva (VC), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga