PCB announce Pakistan’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021; Sarfaraz Ahmed misses out

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday (September 6) announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming 2021 T20 World Cup. The squad will also take on New Zealand and England in short T20I series ahead of the mega ICC event.

Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim confirmed that Babar Azam will lead the side in the T20 World Cup this year while Shadab Khan will have the vice-captaincy role. “Babar Azam will be the captain of the squad while Shadab Khan will be the vice-captain,” he said.

Azam Khan, from Southern Punjab, and Mohammad Rizwan are the two wicket-keepers named in the squad. Fast-bowler Haris Rauf, Hassan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, and Mohammad Hasnain have also been picked.

Former Pakistan captains Sarfaraz Ahmed and Shoaib Malik have not been included in the squad. The chief selector announced left-handed batsman Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir as the traveling reserve players; a category for the T20 World Cup squad.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has already announced the fixtures for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE and Oman. The marquee tournament is scheduled to begin on 17 October and the final will be played on 14 November. Pakistan will begin their campaign with a clash against India on October 24.

Here is Pakistan’s 15-man squad:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Azam Khan (wicketkeeper), Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood

Traveling reserves – Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir