It is an absolute honour: Harbhajan Singh on being given MCC’s honorary life membership

Harbhajan Singh and Javagal Srinath are among 18 new Honorary Life Members of MCC | AFP

Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh thanked the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) for honoring him with the Honorary Life Membership (HLM) of the MCC on Wednesday (October 20).

Harbhajan alongside Javagal Srinath was awarded the life membership of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). The India duo of Srinath and Harbhajan are among the 18 cricketers who have been honored with the Honorary Life Membership (HLM)

Notably, Harbhajan and Srinath both enjoyed excellent international careers. While Harbhajan is India’s third-highest wicket-taker in Test cricket with 417 dismissals in 103 Tests and more than 700 plus international wickets across formats, Srinath, currently an ICC Elite Panel Match Referee, is one of the greatest fast bowlers India produced with 315 ODI wickets and 236 Test scalps.

Following the announcement on Tuesday (October 19), Harbhajan took to Twitter to express his gratitude to MCC after being honoured with the life membership.

He wrote on Twitter: “Over the years, I have always enjoyed playing at the Lord’s whether it’s been for India or as a visiting county team player against Middlesex. MCC’s “Life Membership” is an absolute honour which I accept with utmost humility. Thank you, MCC.”

Notably, England’s Sir Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Marcus Trescothick, and women’s star Sarah Taylor were among the awardees of the MCC’s life membership this year.

Four South African legends, Hashim Amla, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, and Morne Morkel, were also given life membership of the MCC, alongside the Australian duo of Alex Blackwell and Damien Martyn.

The West Indian greats Ian Bishop, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, and Ramnaresh Sarwan, as well as New Zealand women’s star Sara McGlashan, Zimbabwe’s Grant Flower, and Sri Lanka’s Rangana Herath were also recognized for their excellence in the game with the MCC’s life membership.