Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath bestowed with MCC life membership

India’s Harbhajan Singh and Javagal Srinath on Tuesday (October 19) were bestowed with the life membership of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), joining 16 other cricketers who received the honour this year.

Both Harbhajan and Srinath have made a name for themselves in international cricket with their bowling exploits.

While off-spinner Harbhajan is India’s third-highest wicket-taker in Tests with 417 scalps and more than 700 plus international wickets, Srinath is one of the greatest pacers produced by the country and he has 315 ODI wickets and 236 Test dismissals to his name.

“Eight of the 12 Test-playing nations are represented within this year’s list, which includes some of the most recognisable names in the modern game,” said the MCC in a statement.

England’s leading Test run-scorer Alastair Cook and his compatriots Ian Bell and Marcus Trescothick were also awarded the life membership. A fourth England star in the list is Sarah Taylor, who returned to the field this year, featuring in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, Charlotte Edwards Cup and The Hundred.

Four South African greats namely Hashim Amla, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis and Morne Morkel have been conferred with the honorary life membership.

Woman batter Alex Blackwell and the stylish Damien Martyn of Australia are also included.

From West Indies, Ian Bishop, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan received the honour.

Bishop picked up 161 wickets in just 43 Tests, while Chanderpaul is West Indies’ most capped Test player (164) and has 11,867 runs to his name. On the other hand, Sarwan has 15 Test centuries to his name in 87 matches.

Sri Lanka’s Rangana Herath, who has claimed 433 Test wickets in a career spanning almost two decades, is also included.

Sara McGlashan is the only New Zealander on the list, appearing over 200 times for the White Ferns over the course of a 14-year career and Zimbabwean allrounder Grant Flower has been recognised for his 10,000 international runs in 288 matches.

“Once approved by the MCC Committee, letters of invitation are sent to the individual to accept. There is no set number per year. Nominees can accept and be granted the honour at any time,” the statement added.