Delhi Capitals co-owner Parth Jindal raises questions over Team India’s T20 World Cup squad

Delhi Capitals (DC) co-owner Parth Jindal on Sunday (September 26) raised questions over Team India’s squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup, slated to be held in UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14.

Earlier this month, the Chetan Sharma-led selection panel announced India’s 15-member squad and made some notable inclusions and exclusions in the team.

The squad doesn’t feature veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan, who is the leading run-scorer in the IPL 2021 season so far while playing for DC. It also doesn’t include wrist-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, who is having a great time in the ongoing second phase of IPL 2021 for RCB.

On other hand, the most notable selection in the squad was of senior off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who hasn’t featured in white-ball cricket for India since July 2017. Apart from him, Varun Chakravarthy and Rahul Chahar are the two other spinners in the squad.

The squad also features Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan and Hardik Pandya, who are struggling badly in the UAE-leg of IPL 2021 for Mumbai Indians.

Taking to Twitter, Parth wrote: “The selectors must be wondering why they made some of the decisions they did – our T20 World Cup squad doesn’t have some of our best batsman – any guesses who? @DelhiCapitals @BCCI”.

“India’s best spinner in T20 is missing too!! @BCCIdomestic @RCBTweets,” he further tweeted.

After Parth’s post on Twitter, fans came out with their own opinion. While some felt the DC co-owner was walking about his team’s batsmen Shikhar Dhawan or Shreyas Iyer, a few of them also guessed that Jindal must be talking about Chahal for his tweet on India’s best T20 spinner.

Notably, Shreyas Iyer hasn’t been included in the main squad but he is part of the standby players list. After recovering from a shoulder injury, Iyer is playing for DC in the second phase of IPL 2021 and has registered scores of 47* and 43 in the two games so far.

Here are the reactions of the fans:

It is worth mentioning here that the ICC has allowed participating nations to make changes to their squad till October 10, and India might bring in a couple of in-form players on the basis of IPL performances.

India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Akshar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami