BCCI announces Team India’s home season itinerary for 2021-22

The Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed the Team India itinerary for the 2021-22 home season at the Apex Council meeting on Monday.

India will play hosts to New Zealand, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and South Africa in 2021-22 season at home. While the home season kicks off with the T20I series against New Zealand on November 17 in Jaipur, it will end with the T20I series against South Africa in the national capital on June 19.

The series between India and New Zealand will get underway with the opening T20I in Jaipur on November 17, followed by games in Ranchi and Kolkata on November 19 and 21. The two Test matches will be played in Kanpur (November 25 to 29) and Mumbai (December 3 to 7).

IND-NZ schedule
17 Nov, 2021 – 1st T20I, Jaipur
19th Nov, 2021 – 2nd T20I, Ranchi
21st Nov, 2021 – 3rd T20I, Kolkata

25th Nov to 29th Nov, 2021 – 1st Test, Kanpur
3rd Dec to 7th Dec, 2021 – 2nd Test, Mumbai

The India-West Indies series will kick start with the ODIs and the opening game will be played in Ahmedabad on February 6. The second and third games will be played on February 9 and 12 in Jaipur and Kolkata.

This will be followed by the T20Is with the opening game being played on February 15 in Cuttack. The second and third games will be played on February 18 and 20 in Vizag and Trivandrum.

IND-WI schedule
6th Feb, 2022 – 1st ODI, Ahmedabad
9th Feb, 2022 – 2nd ODI, Jaipur
12th Feb, 2022 – 3rd ODI, Kolkata

15th Feb, 2022 – 1st T20I, Cuttack
18th Feb, 2022 – 2nd T20I, Vizag
20th Feb, 2022 – 3rd T20I, Trivandram

Then Sri Lanka will travel to India for two Test matches and three T20I games. The two Tests will be played in Bengaluru (Feb 25 to Mar 1) and Mohali (March 5 to 9). There will be three T20Is played after that with games in Mohali (March 13), Dharamsala (March 15), and Lucknow (March 18).

IND-SL schedule
25th Feb to 1st Mar, 2022 – 1st Test, Bengaluru
5th Mar to 9th Mar, 2022 – 2nd Test, Mohali

13th Mar, 2022 – 1st T20I, Mohali
15th Mar, 2022 – 2nd T20I, Dharamshala
18th Mar, 2022 – 3rd T20I, Lucknow

Then South African team will visit Indian shores for a series of five T20I matches. The games will be played in Chennai (June 9), Bengaluru (June 12), Nagpur (June 14), Rajkot (June 17), and Delhi (June 19).

IND-SA schedule
9th Jun, 2022 – 1st T20I, Chennai
12th Jun, 2022 – 2nd T20I, Bengaluru
14th Jun, 2022 – 3rd T20I, Nagpur
17th Jun, 2022 – 4th T20I, Rajkot
19th Jun, 2022 – 5th T20I, Delhi

The Apex Council also decided that the decision to organize U-16 tournaments will be taken post the Under 19 tournaments and taking into account the COVID-19 situation.