Ajinkya Rahane to captain Mumbai in upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament

Prithvi Shaw will be Ajinkya Rahane's deputy in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 | TOI

Ajinkya Rahane has been named Mumbai captain on Monday (October 18) for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament, starting on November 4 in Guwahati.

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) on Monday announced a 20-member squad for India’s season-opening domestic tournament with the young Indian batter Prithvi Shaw, who led Mumbai to the Vijay Hazare Trophy triumph last season, being named as vice-captain of the side.

The Senior Selection Committee of the MCA headed by Salil Ankola has picked the squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy. Other members of the selection committee are Gulam Parkar, Sunil More, Prasad Desai, and Anand Yalvigi.

Notably, former India hockey captain and the CEO of Olympic Gold Quest (OGQ) Viren Rasquinha, who is involved in Olympic athlete mentoring, interacted with Mumbai’s squad during its preparatory camp on Monday. He was also presented with a signed Mumbai team jersey.

Well, the Mumbai squad features proven performers like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shivam Dube, Dhawal Kulkarni and seasoned pros Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Lad, and Sarfaraz Khan, as well as, the promising youngsters Armaan Jaffer, Prashant Solanki, and Atharva Ankolekar.

Noteworthy, Mumbai will take on Karnataka in their first match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament on November 4.

Mumbai squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (c), Prithvi Shaw, Aditya Tare, Shivam Dube, Tushar Deshpande, Sarfaraz Khan, Prashant Solanki, Shams Mulani, Atharva Ankolekar, Dhaval Kulkarni, Hardik Tamore, Mohit Awasthi, Siddhesh Lad, Sairaj Patil, Aman Khan, Arman Jaffer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tanush Kotian, Deepak Shetty, Roystan Dias.